*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Newsflash: It's a Pyramid Scheme

(March 21, 2007)

Um...so you know those special offers that say "win a free laptop!" or ipod or whatever? I know, I know, they're a load of crap. Laptops and ipods aren't free. It's just that I don't have those things, and my PC is showing its age. I click my mouse. I sit and wait. And wait. And wait. I've run Norton, reinstalled the OS and defragged the drive so many times now...it's just old, man.

Anyway, I don't know what got into me but I wanted to see what happens when you click, "you know, I'd love a laptop and can't afford to buy one."

In case you were curious, here's what happens: you click through a series of promotional offers. Most you can simply skip, but for some you are asked to select one, two or six out of the available choices. All of them can be cancelled. So I did it -- I now have a manila folder with eight print-outs in it. Proof of purchase of some deals that I have some mild interest in, and I've dated and noted "cancel this by xx/xx/07."

It's four magazines for $27, a free credit report, yourmusic.com club, Columbia House club, BMG club, ebay, tooth whitener sample and Blockbuster movie rentals.

Here's the catch. After all that, the thing that I now need is a "friend" to do the same dumbass thing I just did.

*sigh*

So if you would like for me to have a free laptop, and you yourself wouldn't mind various oddball deals such as four magazines for $27, a free credit report, yourmusic.com club, Columbia House club, BMG club, ebay, tooth whitener sample and Blockbuster movie rentals, all of which you can cancel next week, then...

Click here and follow the prompts. It's a specific url linked to my "account" so they can track whether or not I win. If you do it, you'll get your own code and then have to beg your friends to do it too. Pyramid scheme! Clever.

Lame. If one of you does that I'll be shocked.

But I'll also have a laptop.

Probably, who knows.

It's the first day of spring. The first person to write or say "spring has sprung" gets punched in the cock.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .