*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



A Day Late

(March 21, 2007)

Fucking FUCK. I grabbed a Phoenix last night and read it too late to take advantage of one key piece of info. Pagan Kennedy was at Brookline Booksmith doing a reading/signing of her latest, The First Man Made Man. FUCK! You know, I've been reading Pagan's books for years. I have most of them, hunted down in indie book merchants and recycled booksellers such as Powell's and Half.com. I've given her books as gifts, even, and indeed gifted my last copy of The Exes and don't even have it anymore.

It's an awesome book. Anyone in the local rock scene in Boston should read it; you'll recognize everything.

I attempted to interview Pagan a couple of times, but it just never worked out.

All these years and I've never met her. Would love to meet her. Fucking booksigning and I missed it. I'm so pissed! Says there's another one on March 27 in Newtonville. 'the fuck is Newtonville?

Booksmith is the place to go for booksignings though. Great store, feels very warm and homey inside. Last time I scored two copies of Steven Lee Beeber's book Heebie Jeebies at CBGB's: A Secret History of Jewish Punk, and he signed them and me and my girls gave them away for door prizes at the Rock and Roll Social. (Funnily enough, Steven came to the last Social, I think he'd Googled himself and found that he was a prize. He's a delight. As interesting one-on-one as he was at his booksigning).

Why couldn't I have read the Phoenix YESTERDAY.

Dammit, Pagan. Google yourself, find this and email me! Lexi at Lowbudgetsuperhero.com.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .