*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



My Superman

(October 28, 2008)

I feel a lot more like myself today. I felt fine all month while this weirdass flu-like thing has been going around, knocking down one co-worker after another. Well, Saturday it got me. Today it's mostly over. If you get it, what you'll find is that it's only mildly impacting the cough/sneeze factor while mostly insisting on a headachey kind of I-need-to-stay-in-bed-because-I-feel-dizzy thing. Terence says I won't feel TOTALLY good for two weeks. Actually that's what Chuck says too. Gah. Thanks, fellas.

In other news, Joe got laid off today.

The advertising industry is so volatile. Our friends who work in the same industry have been let go and re-hired, let go again and hired on at another agency SO many times over the years that, as Heather implied, it's a miracle Joe has never been caught in any of the many rounds of past layoffs.

He was pretty bummed earlier today as this news started to sink in, but I know he'll be fine. Mostly I'm worried about keeping his spirits up. It's weird for him, he's been working there for so long and doesn't handle change very well.

But by dinnertime (I felt good enough to start a Moroccan Chicken Gumbo in the slow cooker this morning) he started to warm to the idea that this could be viewed as an opportunity.

I am not worried about it. He has a decent severance package, so there's time to regroup.

He can do anything!

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .