*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Thingy

(December 11, 2006)

Shit, it's already almost midnight. That's the problem with my days, they seem to never have enough hours in them.

Should've done more on the weekend.

Yesterday (Sunday) I did manage to shake off some of the anti-gravity campaign my lethargic ass was waging all day Saturday. Sunday I got two big loads of laundry done, helped a guy get a five dollar bill unstuck from the change machine, roasted a nice turkey breast with carrots and stuffing and potatoes, and did a round of "PLEASE WRITE ABOUT THE NOISE 25TH ANNIVERSARY HOLIDAY BASH!" emails begging the Dig, Phoenix, Globe et al.

Promoting is not easy sometimes. No wonder I gave it a long hiatus. These papers. When they pretty much ignore you, they ain't coverin' your event. And this is a NOISE event, you'd think it'd be a no-brainer. I used to think that the "real" papers had a Love/Hate relationship with The Noise, that The Noise is like the scrappy and determined little potty-mouthed runt that's always underfoot with its finger in its nose while the "real" papers are trying to have a civilized adult conversation. But maybe it's more of a Hate/Hate relationship after all.

I dunno, this Noise holiday thing is at the Abbey and it's next Saturday night, 12/16. I think it's gonna be packed whether or not Matt Ashare allows a Lexi Kahn promoted item into his Phoenix. He seems to not-like me. This used to worry me. Now I'm all "What's up? Where's the problem? BRING IT." Or that's what I would say if I ever saw him out or could remember what he looks like. I think he was at the BMAs this year but I didn't see him. I should've made it a point to find him and say "So are you sure you're not mistaking me for someone else?" That happens! The ratio of men/women at The Noise means I'm in the minority -- for awhile it seemed like whenever ANY woman wrote a piece in The Noise it got attributed to me. I clearly recall someone insisting I had a big crush on Bleu because they read a review of mine. Well a)I would freely admit any crushing going on and b)I had never reviewed Bleu. Turned out that it was some other chick. I didn't write the gooey Bleu lovin' review.

Another time about three years ago somebody wanted to know about "the big fight" between me and Nixie. I had no idea what they were talking about. That time it turned out to be a) Not me and b) Not Nixie. This person (I just remembered it was one of the guys in the band IIJ) was mixing up Lexi/Nixie with Rita and Lolita, the Noise gossip columnists who spend each column bickering and one-upping for comic effect.

It's really amazing the number of times people have no fucking clue, isn't it?

So maybe Ashare thinks I'm somebody else?

Or maybe he doesn't have a problem with me particularly, but The Noise in general. This is totally worth a tangent, here's how I found out: I sat on a "Local Rock Promotion" panel at Nemo a few years back, and he was the moderator. So as he's introducing the panel, which included then-Dig guy Luke O'Neill and WBCN's Shred and a couple other guys, he gets to me and goes, "So Lexi, at The Noise you pretty much just write about your friends' bands, right?" I honestly thought he was merely mistaken. It didn't occur to me to be insulted. Lots of people, believe it or not, assume The Noise is a full-time magazine with paid staff and shit. It seemed totally credible that someone would assume the opposite, that it's just me writing about my friends bands. So I said "Oh, no, actually --" and I explained the concept of a fanzine and how T Max started it in 1981 and how a fanzine differs from a major publication in many ways yet has its very important place in a local rock community. He asked a few more questions and I answered them. "You don't cover hip hop though." Things like that.

Later on -- and I mean for months -- people who were in the room for the panel discussion, and people who were told about it, were all, "Duuuude, I can't BELIEVE what a DICK that guy was to you!" "He was? You think?" I really didn't know. This happened so many times I was compelled to go back over the event. I swear, at the time I didn't realize I was being slammed. HA HA!

Anyway. Back to Sunday -- yes, I sent press release reminders to those publications.

At night I tried listening to T Max on Carm's show, as she kindly agreed to have him up as a guest to plug the event. Talked to him tonight, he said he had a super time. I couldn't really get the stream to play, though, so I didn't hear it. So I just hung out with Joe.

Carm's show is so cool.

A propos of nothing: remember when girls used to call everything "thingy" because they (okay, we) thought it sounded cute? Thingy. So NOT-cute. More like fingernails-on-chaulkboard annoying.

Also a propos of nothing: You know that if I'd gotten pregnant at the same age my mother did that I would have a nineteen year old right now? Fucked up.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .