*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



November Skies

(November 22, 2006)

Dude, I have been working way too much. I am wiped out! It's like the weeks are flipping by as fast as pages turning, and before I know it it's gone. Then I look back at the week and say "where did it GO?" It's like, workworkworkworkwork, stick music-related stuff in between unless I'm asleep. Fuck! I have to get my act together. I can't even remember Monday. Seriously. Oh yeah, I was at work until 8, because I was waiting for Angry Fed Ex guy. He was in a good mood.

I'm glad I remembered Monday. But what did I do last Monday night? Was that the Sonicbids-sponsored What Is Indie movie screening at the Middle East downstairs? Or was that the week before? Wait, the Monday before was Steven Lee Beeber's booksigning & reading at Booksmith for his The Heebie Jeebies at CBGB's: A Secret History of Jewish Punk. The movie screening was...when? For Pete's sake, it's a blur. See, pages flipping in a book. LAST Monday I stayed home from work, headachey. Then the Rock and Roll Social was the next night, then Wednesday night I had a meeting with Wolf about overhauling LowBudgetSuperhero.com, then Thursday was a night off (apologies to Casey and munk who were playing the Revolution Rock Bar that night), then Friday was A Night at the Rock Opera.

Also I'm promoting the Noise 25th Anniversary Holiday Bash at the Abbey Lounge on Saturday, Dec 16th.

Tomorrow is the salvation. It is Thanksgiving, and it begins a much-needed four-day break during which I don't want to see or talk to any fuckin' people. Especially work-people. Except for a couple of sick days, two days for Nemo and Friday November 10th, I haven't had time off from work since last Christmas! The trials of a start-up.

I'm cooking a quiet, romantic Thanksgiving dinner for two. Just the sound of that sentence is melting away social tensions like buttah.

Oh yeah, I didn't write about Friday, November 10th! We took personal days at work, and Joe and I flew to Philadelphia, got a hotel room and walked around the historic district and South Philly. Well, first we spent some quality time in the hotel room, wink wink, nudge nudge. THEN we walked around South Philly, a neighborhood I love for its boutiques, zillion restaurants, music stores, tattoo parlors and sex shops. I'd only been there twice before and, because it was for band-business, there was never enough time to just stroll around and, like, buy stuff.

We had the best time. Found a little Italian restaurant later on and ate pasta and drank wine and laughed.

The next day, Saturday, we spent more time in the historic district. Actually I shot some of the weekend with our little digital movie camera, and maybe this weekend I'll have time to put it all together! Because the focus of the weekend was a surprise dinner for Joe's dad, in New Jersey. It was cool, he didn't know we were all going.

I didn't realize Joe's sister was coming a day early too. When I found out, on the plane down, I said "So...we're all going to be in town in the morning?" Joe says "Yeah." I said, "So...how come we are all hiding mere minutes away until dinnertime? We could just spend the day with your dad, wouldn't he like that better?"

It seems no one thought of that.

Except at dinner when Dad goes, "Why didn't you all come over earlier?"

Well anyway it gave us a chance to tour around and see Ben Franklin's grave, the old churches and banks, and the line around the liberty bell. Not the bell itself, just the line.

And Joey got me an Edgar Allen Poe doll! Now he's sitting over my desk. He's got a quill and a raven.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .