*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Pledge...something...to...SOMETHING

(May 20, 2006)

I'm guilty of getting so caught up in the minutiae of daily life that I forget about the world. I think it's an American thing.

We walk around every day, not just cushioned, but practically upholstered in a bizaare plushy reality that includes such fucking stupidity...

...when something rips through the cushion, it can be a real shocker. This is what we call "reality check" and it can take any form. Sometimes dumber form than you might expect.

I got really mad the other night when I saw a commercial for a new thing at (was it Wendy's?) that was so gross. It's a bowl of mashed potatoes, with corn on top, with fried chicken bits on top of that, with gravy and cheese on top of the whole mess.

This is a real food item. I didn't make it up in some "Think Up Gross Food" contest. Now people can say "Those Americans, they really will eat anything as long as there's cheese and gravy on top."

This is infuriating.

So the world hates us, you say? When our own citizens are starving and homeless and our soldiers are dying and KILLING for no good reason, into this sick and twisted world, someone added a Bowl of Heart Attack and went home for the day happy with their contribution.

...

I just read back over what I wrote. I read it twice, in fact. And I'm sorry that even I don't see my point.

What is it that I am trying to say to you right now?

Why does this fucking mashed potato bowl instill in me such a sense of embarrassment, and hopelessness that humankind will ever collectively do the right thing.

It's just potatoes.

Was there ever a situation that was rendered egregiously worse or miraculously better by the presence of potatoes?

I can't answer that.

Everyone, do me a favor. Just one small thing to counteract the potato bowl thing. Go to the Cape Wind website and click the "Take Action" button, click the "Stay Informed" button. It's here: www.capewind.org. Do this and you can add your voice to SOMETHING reasonable.

The other thing you can do is: please don't ever order that potato bowl thing. If we all work together to ignore it, maybe it will fade into the blessed obscurity of bad ideas.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .