*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Lausanne...

(May 16, 2003)

Okay, okay, I'm here, I didn't die. I'm sure that unless you're one of the thoughtful, wonderful people who emailed, signed this guestbook, called, or came to visit me, you don't know exactly what happened. Well babycakeses, it's as simple as it is surreal. On tour with All the Queen's Men, everything was going great. For most days of the trip my notebook looked like this, for example:

    Thu Apr 3, BASEL

    -up by 8am/Lexi and Christine go get food and money changed
    -12pm: Meet at space/load up/bring posters to Sacre Couer
    -LEAVE BY 1:30...NO LATER! drive to Basel
    -4pm: Basel/soundcheck (4 - 6)
    -6pm - 8/Go to crash pad
    -8pm: dinner
    -10pm: SHOW

I swear, nowhere did it say:
    Sat Apr 12, La Chaux de Fonds

    -consider the possibility that my stomachache could in fact actually kill me
    9pm: Go the the emergency room in a little French-speaking villa in Switzerland and get rushed into urgent surgery

But that's what happened. My intestine (sigmoid colon, it says on the chart) ruptured. Apparently, lots of people have these soft spots on their intestine called "diverticula," and for many, they feel cramps and aches, go to the doctor, the doctor says to avoid certain foods (I have a friend in California with diverticular issues and she can't eat seeds) and sometimes they get antibiotics. OTHER people, it seems, can go along happily with no symptoms at all, and then suddenly RRRIIIPPPPP!

If that ever happens to you, try not to be 3700 miles from home. Kind of complicates things.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .