*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Eat Your Vegetables

(September 25, 2002)

"Vegetable sugars, hm?"

"Yeah, at least, according to this one chef I knew."

Hub and I were eating dinner the other night when something reminded me of an America's Funniest Home Video. What must be the world's most heinously awful kid (Damien of The Omen notwithstanding) sat at the kitchen table and moaned and wailed over her green beans. It was clearly a "You sit there until you finish your green beans young lady" scenario, and the ensuing screech-fest was an astonishing milestone in Melodrama of the Spoiled Brat. I mean, it had it all. Implied accusation of abuse. Tears. Theatrics. And oh yes, threats and promises. "I'M NEEEEVER EATING ANOTHER GREEN BEAN AGAAAAIIIINNNNN!"

Keep in mind that this is on tape. Some parent is taping this.

So this theory was told to me by a chef who had a couple of kids. In college I babysat the kids all the time. I remember commenting to him about how his girls were unusually good about eating their vegetables. The older one, Kristen (the COOLEST kid I ever met, by the way) loved to snack on things like red pepper rings, Brussels sprouts, and frozen peas and carrots. The theory that this chef/dad had tested was, when they're babies, don't introduce "fruit sugars" so soon. Allow their bodies to become fond of "vegetable sugars" first.

Interesting, right?


(Kristen and me. She's the blonde. Oh check it out, my natural hair color...whaddaya call...brown.)

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .