*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Discovery Channel

(September 18, 2002)

So I'm outside GiantSuckingSound.com smoking a Kool (it happens). It's a beautiful day, my rack looks amazing in this shirt (really), and the humidity is gone so my hair isn't Einstein-ing out on all sides of my head.

But that's not the point.

I'm staring at my boots, turning a sentence over and over in my mind. Trying to write that Kay Hanley review. I do like the CD at least-- that's good. It's hard to be on "the other side" sometimes (EVERYbody loves Kay) and I thought I was going to snore through this. But it's a pretty darn good little CD she made here.

But that's not the point either.

Yeah I'm thinking about the fact that today is The Noise deadline and I'm not done, but I'm really tossing around a bunch of other crap that, truth be told, isn't even mine to toss around. Across my forehead it must be written "Dump Your Problems Here," because, good lord, people do. Not just my friends who I love, either. Random people. "Hey," I wanna say, "I got problems of my own, buddy."

But that is REALLY not the point.

So I'm standing there, and I see this ant zooming along on this certain ant-logic trajectory, and he (we'll say he's a he) encounters this twig in his path. It's not a really wide twig or anything. I mean it's in his way, but he could have easily gone around it. I'm thinking he's going to go around it. Instead he climbs right over it. He pauses for the tiniest second just before continuing.

Then I see another ant, and this second ant, he does the same thing. Different twig though. I mean, he wasn't stalking the first ant or anything.

I think what they must be doing is crawling OVER the obstacles to see if they might be food or something else useful.

Face the obstacle head on, because it may be something you can use later.

Ants rule.

That's the point.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .