*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Live from New York, it's Friday Night

(July 28, 2001)

A funny thing happened on the way to New York.

So I'm driving west on 84, and just outside Vernon, CT, I descend a long slope of highway into a valley. The sky has been overcast all day, and from my vantage point at the top of the hill it's hanging right down to the trees on the horizon. All I see is enormous, dense cumulous clouds...or not.

Because it seems to me that some of the enormous, dense cumulous clouds are denser and more enormous than the others. And billowing from a specific point on the ground. As I watch, the "clouds" get darker and darker, and easily double in size. I didn't need to get any closer to realize that I'm seeing something that has just exploded. And the smoke, now charcoal gray, do not look friendly, folks. I make sure the air conditioner is off and start blinking my eyes to see if they sting or anything. No, they don't. And I can still breathe. All good.

I end up driving right by the explosion site-- because that's what it was, an explosion-- and emergency vehicles are just starting to close down 84 in both directions. I let the radio scan until it told me what I wanted to know:

    "...and this just in. An explosion at the Namco Pool Company has been reported in Manchester. Chlorine smoke is spilling across the highway, and white soot is falling in the area. Police are closing off traffic and the area is being evacuated. If you are headed towards Manchester, you are advised to turn back..."

I made it through without getting stopped. Nobody died, according to the news. After that, I was pretty sure I could handle a wedding.

______________________________

(Later)

They don't say what actually caused the explosion.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .