*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



For An Encore I'll Comb The Rug Tassles

(March 7, 2001)

Oh, man. Every time I have like, a LOT of work to do, I am compelled to start cleaning. Which is, I suppose, not all bad. Because I'm rarely compelled to start cleaning any other time. I DO it, mind you-- just not with the same energy and enthusiasm as when I have 3000 words due in a week. I have been known to alphabetize my spice rack and line up the canned goods by size before sitting down to do my taxes. On April 15th.

In college I realized that I am not the only one with this Can't Work/Must Clean affliction. As a Freshmen I remember going into Eddie's room to find her perched on her bed, stretching to swat at spider webs in the corner of the ceiling.

"What's up?" I asked her butt.

"Paper due," she replied without turning around. Eddie was a Junior, a Math major. You could eat off her floor at mid-term time. She also had a set of pipes that could make you cry and a natural acting ability. She's doing this now and I haven't seen her in 8 years or something. How do I lose track of people so often? But I digress. I do that.

Today I really need to focus. A)I should be at work and I'm not. Maybe they'll fire me, wouldn't that be a hoot. And 2) there's the 3000 words in the form of a story and some reviews.

But you should see my DESK, it's like a BOMB hit it. Okay, I'll compromise with myself: I will just clean off my desk and then get to work. What's mostly on my desk are CDs. They positively breed here, how do I do this to myself? Alright, I'm done with this entry, but first I feel compelled, in one last surge of wasting as much time as humanly possible, to specify all the CDs, in the absolute exact order in which they are stacked, embarrassments and guilty pleasures and all:

    Supergrass, "Late In The Day"
    Dave Aaronoff & The Details, "Your First Time With The Details"
    The Refreshments, "Fizzy Fuzzy Big & Buzzy"
    The Stumble, "The Stumble"
    Betty Goo, "Gooicide"
    The Red Telephone,"Cellar Songs"
    Bleu, "Headroom"
    Sleater-Kinney, "Chainsaw"
    Mudhens, "Mudhens"
    Pet Shop Boys, "So Hard"
    Spin Doctors, "Turn It Upside Down"
    Mission of Burma, "The Horrible Truth About Burma"
    King Crimson, "Larks' Tongues in Aspic"
    Gustav Mahler, "Symphony no. I, The Titan"
    Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, "The Fossil Record 1980-1987"
    Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, "Petrophonics"
    Machinery Hall, "Tear It Down"
    Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, "Faultline"
    Lauri des Marais, "Stimuli"
    Pure Funk (compilation)
    The Colonel and his Lucky Diamonds (demo)
    Sugar Daddy, "Sugar Daddy"
    Dharma Bums, "Bliss"
    Kendra Flowers, "Soulo"
    Groovasaurus, "A High Fidelity Adventure"
    Aztec Camera, "Dreamland"
    Bound.4.Venus, "Publicity Stunt"
    Billy Bragg, "Reaching to the Converted"
    Betty Goo, "Superchthonic"
    Aztec Camera, "The Crying Scene"
    Culture Club, "Colour By Numbers"
    The Gizmos,"1976/1977: The Studio Recordings"
    Alanis Morrisette, "Jagged Little Pill"
    Xygoatz (demo)
    Paved Country, "Deconstructing Paradise"

    . . . . .

    Back / Forward

    . . . . .