*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Finger Lickin' Sunday

(March 06, 2001)


Actual Notes. Nice handwriting, eh?

Lilli's posted a "special early show, doors at 6" thing for Sunday. The Raging Teens, too. Cool. I love the Raging Teens. I had plans for LATER at NINE (okay, I had to watch TV with Hub, alright? The premiere of The Lone Gunmen, it was important), but an early rock show would be awesome.

My notes from Sunday, direct from my little book:

6:10: Five guys onstage, soundcheck. Seem to be gearing up to be surf-swing act a la Stray Cats, with a down-home Memphis guitar feel. Like RT, I guess. RT played last night at Linwood, who's going to come today? Should have gone last night, RT good at Lin. Opener called "The Colonel." Guitar told sound guy, "No effects required." Nice.

Interminable length of time which I occupy reading Weekly Dig c. to c. for the 1st time. Anne Weeks piece on pubic shaving funny. Johnny Cash "I Walk The Line" is playing. A toddler w/ orange balloon circles the room. Cutie!


Raging Teen with Raging Toddler and Raging Grampa

6:50: Poundy gets me another Coke. Is that his name, Poundy? Maybe just looks like Poundy. Don't call him that just in case. I start feeling hungry and find a piece of Juicy Fruit in my pocket. A little stiff, but occupies my mouth. The music changes to Irish Seisun.

7:00: The toddler has been lifted onto the stage now, and is dancing to the Irish drinking songs. A Raging Toddler!


Is This How To Rock, Daddy?

(I fill up some time by taking pictures of the kid, and wandering over to sign the Colonel's mailing list. I'm the first one to sign, and given the very high number of people that aren't in the room, I may be the only one to sign it.)

7:10: I am going to die if a band doesn't start soon. "Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend" plays, gets cut off, changes to Peter Gunn theme. Then to Wooly Bully or something. WTF. When is the band starting. I want to see Raging Teens.

7:20: I see someone onstage holding an instrument. Thank Christ. Is it...NOOOOOO, he leaves the stage. I could use a freakin' plate of wings. Now the music is something surf, but sounds original, not new-surf like The Strangemen or that band that plays The Plough all the time. How can I tell? Something. The toddler pops her balloon. No crying, thank God. I like kids like this, cool kid. The place has filled a bit. I realize it looks like the waiting room of a James Dean look-alike contest. I am happy I wore my flame-trimmed shoes with white socks. I fit in w/ the Teens crowd. I will wait until 7:30, then I'm outta here, I'm dying of boredom.

(At 7:30, I stood up, put on my hat and scarf, loaded up my camera and pad...and The Colonel and his Lucky Diamonds took the stage. I am so annoyed and hungry by then that I almost leave anyway, but I stay and take more notes)

7:30: "Diamonds Are A Girls..." starts again, this time stays on. I see, it announces them. Suits. Yeah, Stray Cats. One ballad very '50's. Pretty. Could be cover. "Devil took my heart away again." I swear drummer used one of those whisker things. Ended with a "Woo oo oo ooo" like a crooner tune. Some instrumentals. Dueling Gibsons. Songs about T-Birds. Playing guitar behind back. Can see why Raging Teens like them. Cricket show, tho, no one in room. Can't leave an empty room, too obvious.


"This move kills in Providence."

(The band played for an hour. At 8:30, the Raging Teens started to set up and took forever. I want to see them though, they rock. I went back to the Colonel merch table and give a guy six bucks for a demo CD in a plain jewel case scribbled with magic marker. I notice that Mary Lou Lord is one of the 5 or 6 other people who signed the mailing list after me. I'm dying to see The Raging Teens, but they don't start until a tick before nine. By then I HAVE to go. Before the first song, The Raging Teen singer congratulates one of the Colenels for being pregnant, saying, "I brought in my own kid so they could see what to expect." The Raging Teens gots kids? They ARE kids. I feel old.)

For a "special early show," this blew. I'd have seen the band I wanted to see if I had arrived at the regular fucking time, 9ish. Dammit, I had to leave halfway thru the set. Lilli, why advertise an EARLY SHOW at 6. I just wasted three hours. Three hours I'll never get back. I go home and Hub and I make wings and watch The Lone Gunmen.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .