*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Barry Manilow Anonymous

(May 05, 2000)

Guilty Pleasure: Music that makes your friends cringe and laugh at you.

Driven to pondering this peer-pressurized concept based on a conversation with Paula , I (being a big ol' rational-to-the-point-of-irrational NERD) looked up the term, juuuuuust to see if mainstream society had yet gone so far as to officially define what constitutes a "guilty pleasure" and, like it does with fat cells and nuclear power and flat chests and Prozac and minivans, inform us all how we're supposed to feel about it.

First I asked Daniel Webster, who's a little sluggish in the colloquialism department and therefore didn't know, and then I asked Jeeves, who's speed skating down the information superhighway and kindly brought this site up for me.

On this list of "music that makes your friends cringe and laugh" I found not one, not two, not three�okay let's just say I AM A DORK and call it a celebration. This list could practically have been culled from my record collection. Are you horrified? Good! You see, every day I go around reading and listening and viewing the stuff of pop culture, processing ideas and sounds and images and generally having a fabu time of it. And I like what I like, even if everyone else thinks I AM A DORK. But lemme tell ya, even though the pink-haired, nose-ringed 98 lb sprite ringing me up at Tower Records has an almost definite snicker going on as she's scanning my Leonard Cohen or Best of Country Superstars, she's privately thinking "Is this cool or not�I can't tell." Damn straight, Cookie-Cutter-Counter-Culture-Grrrl. I come to your cash register and I challenge your bejeweled bare midriff with my rubber bracelets and my eyewear fetish! And I am not alone!

There are others out there, way cooler than me, and I invite the Guilty Pleasure subculture to unite proudly anywhere where music and passion is always the fashion and flick their Bics, wear their sunglasses at night, rock down to electric avenue, and boogie oogie oogie all night long.

My name is Lexi, and I am a dork.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .