*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Got Mortality?

(May 16, 2000)

When life brings moments of clarity, sometimes it's just so damn funny.

Hub has this pair of blue running shorts that are so old they've actually come back into style. They're actually cut-offs that started life as some sort of sweatpant, the kind with the white stripe down the side that all the kids are wearing again. Except these babies are made of some fire resistant nearly plasticine fabric that, I'm sure, isn't manufactured anywhere in the world anymore. And who did the cutting-off, rendering what must have been a perfectly hideous pair of pants into a jagged, decidedly frayed (but still hideous) pair of shorts?

So ever since we moved in together this particular pair of shorts has been a comic element in our lives.

So I'm on the couch reading a magazine, and my dearest comes walking out of the bedroom donned in this piece of fashion tragedy. By now I don't even have to say anything---he knows what I'm thinking-- he says, "Leave me alone, I like them."

"Since 1970what?" I snicker over the top of my new issue of Bust.

"1979,so? These were passed down to me!" he claims. Proudly.

"Do you realize," I ask coolly,"that those shorts are older than some of my colleagues at The Noise?"

...

...

...Replacing the running shorts: $24.99

...Enough ice cream and wine to ease the pain: $35

...Realizing you're not a kid anymore: priceless

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .