*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Slow News Day?

(November 10, 2008)

OH for fuck's sake, WBZ. Are you guys sniffing windshield wipers over there?

Ten minutes on the 11 o'clock news for this ridiculous I-Team report about the MBTA. While there's always a lot of drama around this organization, this time it's just silly. Tonight's expose is a grave call for an oversight investigation into the lunch that gets brought into the board meetings. That's right, the LUNCH. Joe Shortsleeve soberly comments as the camera ultra-zooms into the windows of the meeting room, panning to where you can just about see the poor drones spooning mush from aluminum foil-covered pans. "There were salads and fruit plates, all being enjoyed by a large group of people." It's just lunch! You think omitting lunch from the meeting is going to make a dent in the $8 billion dollar debt? That's like saying "Well I do owe thousands in student loans, so...um...yeah I'm not going to buy underwear, yeah, that's right." It is only barely connected. Yes, there is a big huge debt, but business must go on, and everybody knows snacks are an incentive to get people TO the meetings in the first place, and make it the right kind of environment for work to get done. Maybe it's because I'm Italian and my default state is to feed people, but lunch at the board meeting does not a scandal make. Read the story

The other non-scandal? What kind of puppy will the Obamas get, and from where. Seriously, another ten minutes devoted to the pro's and cons of many breeds. People seem to be all about collies.

Also, Starbucks is reporting huge losses again this quarter. Joe says "We're making an impact!" He means since buying the Keurig neither of us has stepped foot into a Starbucks or Dunks.

I guess besides the temperature dropping into the 20s(F), why your nose runs when it's cold, a buncha crap about football, the only other news story was about the leggy chick who got into the Guiness Book today because her legs are four feet long.

Daaaaamn.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .



Jess - 2008-11-11 22:46:45
Your post made me hungry, hee hee. I don't go to Starbucks, either, even though many times I want to because it's convienient. I prefer to get my chai latte at locally-owned coffee shops. (I always get a donut... or 5... from D&Ds, though, when I'm home for a visit)
-------------------------------