*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Tee Vee and Mee, Whee

(October 24, 2008)

Man, I totally fell asleep last night around 11.

Actually I didn't fall asleep, I passed out.

And ACTUALLY it was BEFORE 11. I now remember I grudgingly decided to watch a new TV show I'd never heard of called "Eleventh Hour" but I fell asleep partway through the thing. During the tenth hour, I guess you could say.

I don't know how long it's been on, but "Eleventh Hour" seems good in a "Numbers" meets "House" kind of way. From what I saw, it's an FBI consultant guy, who is a doctor, who diagnoses puzzling crime scenes using his super mad skillz. My falling asleep during the show should in no way be connected to its quality as a medical/crime drama.

You know what's really cool? I can catch "Numbers" any time I want with the Comcast video-on-demand, and since I became interested in "House" I have discovered I can catch THAT anytime too, with Amazon.com's video-on-demand.

Clearly this is the kind of thing that made Tivo so popular. I don't think I quite need a Tivo though.

Plus, what's the point, anything I like gets canceled. I'm the kiss of death. I need only say "Hey, great show!" and it gets knocked back to a mid-season replacement slot before fading into obsolescence.

If I hate it, it stays on the air for twenty years.

Anyone remember the old Jay Mohr show called "Action"? I think they made, maybe, eight of them. It was friggin' brilliant. Jay played a sleazy, fast-talking Hollywood producer, and the underrated Ileana Douglas played his actress-turned-prostitute-turned scriptwriter assistant. Funny, smart, edgy -- at the time it was like no TV ever made. They were really on to something, a certain adult-oriented humor with a lot of politics, backbiting and subterfuge. I couldn't believe "Action" didn't make it.

"Sports Night" is another one that didn't make it.

"Arrested Development" too.

Sorry "Eleventh Hour," because I like you, you're doomed.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .



Lola - 2008-10-27 08:26:31
I loved Action! I didn't know that was even what it was called. Peter Dragon and the elephant girl. That's all I remember. Love Ileana Douglas. Why don't we see her more?
-------------------------------