*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Sneaking In Another Materialistic Moment

(October 10, 2008)

Heh. A brief respite from yesterday's somber talk of frugality as the global economy nosedives.

I've got a small assortment of useless shoes.

I am very much without presentable footwear.

I need new shoes.

I am making a conscious effort to dress better for work, now that we have the support staff to do heavy lifting and shipping and receiving, it means that I can wear my business clothes again, and look the managerial role that I have. It's hard to haul, pick, pack, ship and shuttle up and down in the freight elevator while wearing a pencil skirt and heels. Pretty much did the my-version-of-jeans, T-shirt, boots thing for several years.

I'm happy, I like dressing nicer. Jewelry! Skirts! Shoe...oh. See, it's hard to take myself seriously when my suit jacket and slacks are accessorized with those scuffed black Doc Martens that we all had back in our Trapper Keeper days. YOU know. Check your closet.

I still love my boots, but I think it's time that I put on the grown-up lady shoes.

I need some well-made low-heeled pumps that I can walk in all day, that look sharp and stylish, but still hint at a hidden whimsy. You know? Maybe not whimsy, exactly, but "cool." At work I'm not the dragon lady in the Jimmy Choo's. Just the one in charge, but in an approachable way.

Now, I cannot walk in anything too high, so forget that. No toes, but the peek-a-boo trend is okay, I can check out some of those. But I tend to reject many styles that glossy cosmopolitan Fashionistas would have us believe are cool -- have you SEEN this awful "shoe bootie" that's all the rage? God.

So putting on the grown-up lady shoes means spending more than twenty dollars at Payless. As such, I'm really going to Fluevog's to look around.

However, I must say, have you LOOKED at Naturalizers lately??

I didn't even THINK of Naturalizers because historically they have always been, well, grandma shoes:

Could anything be done to make those any uglier? Shudder to think. You might as well get some Crocs.

But hey! I was at TJ Maxx the other night? And found some cute, low pumps. I looked closer. They were Naturalizers! And less than fifty bucks. I went home and did some research. Apparently Naturalizer has been making a conscious effort to aim for the younger market as more and more women are rejecting the stupid myth that we need to walk around in pain in order to look good.

I think it's working. These are all Naturalizers! Who knew!

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .



Lola - 2008-10-10 07:35:55
Hey, I like my scuffed black Doc Martens. And where can I get a Trapper Keeper? Seriously, someone recently tried to tell me how comfortable a pair of Manolo's could be. I'm not buying it.
-------------------------------
Jess - 2008-10-10 16:59:57
My feet suck so much that I can't even wear Naturalizer shoes! I had always just assumed that other people dealt with foot pain better then I until I saw a foot doctor a year or two ago and found out that my feet are practically double-jointed. And that's really bad for walking. I can't walk for more than 20 minutes or so in ANY shoe without being in pain. It's a real bummer because I frikkin' LOVE shoes. And my last name is WALKER! WTF?!
-------------------------------
Lexi - 2008-10-10 17:54:54
Lola! Manolo's I had to Google. I'm learning from the style show "What Not To Wear" who's who in shoes but I couldn't visualize Manolo's. Oh my GOD, you're right, there is no way they can be comfortable! There is no "shoe" in those shoes. Most of them have nothing at all under the toe area, no arch support whatsoever in the last, and a freakin' six inch needle for a heel so you're on tiptoe in them. You may as well strap a few drink coasters to your feet for all the support and comfort you get. I need a real shoe.
-------------------------------
Lexi - 2008-10-10 17:58:01
Jess, I should check that out myself. I do walk a lot but I've been wearing my boots and flats for so long that anytime I put on a heel it kills. I see these women walking all over on tours of the city (!!) in high heeled sandals and can't believe they aren't limping. Well, some of them are...now THAT'S a good look. Wearing sexy shoes but limping and wincing.
-------------------------------