*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Just When I Think I'm Out, They Pull Me Back In

(September 18, 2008)

It's been four months since I cut the last thread of responsibility tying me to local Boston rock. Even though my exit took a few months to finalize (handing off various duties and so forth) people are only just kind of finding out.

On Sunday at the Allston Street Fair I saw Kier, a dude whose name used to grace these Diary entries quite often. Back in the day. Heh. Well despite the rain and humidity, the Fair went on, and Three Day Threshold was playing the last slot of the day. We hugged as usual and chit chatted, then Kier introduced me to Brendan from the Autumn Something Band with "Lexi writes for The Noise and Low Budget Superhero and books shows..." I had to stop him before he could get to the WBOS weekly radio show and the Rock and Roll Social. "Used to, used to," I protested before the guy could get too excited. Kier looked shocked. The guy has been going full throttle with Three Day Threshold for more years than I did all that stuff -- they were one of the first bands I saw! Probably I was one of the last people he expected to quit.

That night I got email from Rick Berlin titled just, "Lex." In it he asks where've I been and am I okay? Hasn't seen me around...I need to answer that email, but I want to think about what to say first. Rick Berlin's music is something special to me. I love his voice, his lyrics, his piano. He can do no wrong. Talk about a low budget superhero. He was one of my favorite interviews ever in 2005, and I also reviewed his last CD release party in 2006. Now he has a NEW CD. Boy. Time flies...

Monday night Etto called. "Hey, did you get my email?" White has another CD coming out too, releasing next month, can I do a story, etc. Monday was the day I took off from work to go on my recon mission to Bob's Discount Furniture, Homegoods, Target and IKEA; I came home with a ton of stuff and Joe went to a movie while I cleaned and organized. So Etto caught me while I was pretty much under the kitchen island sweeping out decaying debris and preparing to mop the floor...no rock and roll, Etto...organizing apartment, Etto. Sorry. Actually need to email him back, I hung up too fast on the boy when Joe's cell number appeared on the caller ID. Sorry Etto.

Tuesday I was sitting outside AJ Wright in Allston, waiting for a cab when I saw Hillary, always nice to run into and a rockin' chick I've been following since her old band, Tootsie. I loved Tootsie! Really cool girlie pop. Her current band, Jaded, is much heavier (they toured with WASP, ought to give you some idea) but put on a good show. Hillary said "How are the Socials going, I've got to get back there" and so forth. Again...I quit, I'm sorry, I don't know how they're going.

At some point, I'll be obsolete. It's already in process, and bittersweet. What else does anyone have to say to me but "my band, my band, my BAND!" Do I even know anymore how to operate on a social level without promotion as an anchor?

Speaking of being obsolete...hey Neil? I can't find Billy Beard's information, I don't think I can help with booking that Lizard Lounge show for Christmas time. Sorry duder.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .



Jess - 2008-09-18 17:32:50
Nice post. So anyway, I was hoping you could help me with my band... (hee hee)
-------------------------------