*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Never go up against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

(February 14, 2008)

Happy Valentine's Day, y'all! From me and my baby.

Man, the city was hopping tonight. We went to the Coolidge Corner Theatre to see a special showing of The Princess Bride. I found out about it a few weeks ago when I went there to see Juno and saw the posters advertising the special screening. I LOVE when they bring old movies back to the big screen! Joey 'n me saw A Clockwork Orange at the Coolidge a few years ago and it was awesome.

The place was packed, of course. "This is the fullest theatre I've been in in awhile," I said. Back when I was living with Hub we were regular movie-goers, but it was almost always the late-late shows in the 'burbs. Like the midnight show in Woburn or something. There were times when we'd literally be THE ONLY PEOPLE in the theatre -- and that's the way I like to see a movie. I can clearly recall one time we went at a "normal" time of night. We went to see Stigmata. This group of teenagers behind us talked through the whole goddamn thing, a steady commentary of insipid un-funny. People suck, but teenagers in a crowded theatre seem to suck in whole new ways. OH, and, Hub has a gut-wrenching aversion to the sound of crinkling cellophane, so you can imagine. I haven't been to a movie with Hub in, what, six years, but I still can't hear a crinkling bag without thinking of him. (An aside: our cat Barney caught on to that particular Hub peeve -- so Barney used to haul out a plastic grocery bag, bring it to wherever Hub was relaxing and, just out of reach, start kneading the bag to make it crinkle. This would *always* result in Hub getting up and chasing Barney around until he could wrestle the bag away. Then Barney would get another bag...I used to say "It's a battle of wills." That cat just always wanted to play.)

So yeah, between the loudness and the crowdness, I just eventually limited how often I'd go to movies at peak times on peak nights.

But tonight's adventure was fun. The Coolidge, at sold-out capacity, was festive and expectant. We all sang Happy Birthday to some girl and there was a raffle for some shit.

I loved that everyone reacted all together. "Awwww," when Fred Savage's little round face first appeared. "Yay! Woo hoo!" when Inigo killed Count Rugen. And laughing at everything that's considered a famous quote. "Unemployed! In GREENLAND!" Ha! AND everyone stuck around for the credits at the end and actually clapped for each actor as though it were the curtain call of a play. Except for Count Rugen, who was cheerfully booed.

After the movie we got take-out from Qdoba and cabbed it home. Joe's now playing his new sitar. It sounds beautiful.

My man rocks. WE rock.

"You think this happens every day?" (Westley)


(Dec 1, 2007, photo by Terence Burke!)

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .



onlyone - 2008-02-22 11:41:30
hooray! that WAS fun!
-------------------------------