*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Sunday, Rainy Sunday

(August 27, 2006)

Wow, about an hour ago I had started typing this entry. It was going to start out saying "Ah, cold rainy Sunday and I'm home alone and getting ready to color my hair, write a press release, listen to the Auto Interiors CD and compile an outline for tomorrow night when I interview them."

Now I've had to totally start over. See, I'm not home alone any more, and there's not just one Kowalski in the other room, there's two. JoeyBear's brother Jimmy is in town and staying with us. On the way to Bill's Bar on Friday night, Jen (the youngest Kowalski but the most mature, sorry boys, it's true) said she'd like to have everyone over for barbecue on Sunday. That's today.

We were at Fenway walking up Brookline Street en route to Beerworks, and as soon as she said it my internal voice said, "Doh!" Because my schedule has been so insane, I'd set aside today for chilling at home and doing all the above-mentioned chores. I hadn't planned for taking a series of trains out to my least-favorite-part-of-the-state and socializing all day. But I didn't say no right away, because the socializin' is always fun, the food is always great, and Jimmy I don't think has seen her new house. So I left the decision 'til today. I figured I would either re-make my plans (let's see, if I get up realllly early Monday I could do the press release...I can wait on the hair color...I could just wing the interview, making shit up as I go along...)

But ultimately I decided today that I'd skip the barbecue. I really do have a lot to do. And as soon as I got up, I made the guys breakfast and went out to do some errands, so now it's my time. Yes, it is that kind of day. It is cold, rainy, stay at home, get work done, hair dye day.

Joe and Jim left for the train; I suggested they take a cab for speed and for dryness, as it's raining like a motherfucker. But they didn't take a cab, and they missed the connection.

So they called me and said "we're coming back."

Right now I'm sitting at my messy desk, in my cold office, wearing a formerly-white-but-once-washed-with-a-red-sock T shirt, which makes it sort of pinkish. This shirt also sports evidence of several go-rounds of hair dye. I'm wearing it because I'm also laboring under a headfull of hair dye, and therefore have a humongo clip holding most of my hair on top of my head. I also have Auto Interiors on the CD player, and some steak tips marinating.

Yes, it is that kind of day. It is cold, rainy, stay at home, get work done, hair dye day.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .