*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



...partial.

(June 15, 2006)

...so yeah, sorry about that "partial" entry. I'd been hanging at work earlier waiting for the boss to come back so I could help him get shit loaded up and carted down to his car, then he came back so I halted the entry mid-thought.

He's gone, I'm home now.

Where was I? Oh, Low Budget Superhero...I'm changing its scope. I'd done the booking/promo thing with it since 2002, recently (October) putting the whole thing on hiatus. Finished up Voodoo Screw Machine's CD release campaign and told Count Zero I couldn't book them anymore, and didn't take any new clients. Which was actually kind of hard because some VERY COOL BANDS who I love approached me for some Superheroness. But I had to say no! By summer's end Low Budget Superhero will be more like an online 'zine. People will say "we got a great review on Low Budget Superhero."

And, this diary will be under the roof of it, under "rants." HA! Do you think that's a mistake? I don't think it's a mistake, I think it'll gel everything together. Like Argo in the strawberry pie. Egg in the meatballs. You know. Sticky stuff that sticks stuff to other stuff.

Tonight I'm going to the Paradise for Bang Camaro, Bleu, Everyday Visuals and the Rudds. (I don't have the energy to url all those links, maybe later). I don't know if the bands play in that order. Actually I have no idea what order it's in; actually there's a TON of great shows going on tonight, but Bleu emailed his people saying "it's my last show before I leave, you know that, right?" I did know that, but like I wrote in my reply, "Dude, a)it's only LA, since I never see you anyway, you may as well already live there and 2)you'll totally be back around here playing." The first thing I said when I heard Bleu was moving to LA was, "Is he getting a car?" Because don't you pretty much NEED a car in LA? The guy went from living in Allston (that's where I live, you don't need a car here) to Jamaica Plain (you could sort of get away without a car but it's not as close to as much stuff as Allston). The guy has a freakin' record deal and has toured the world, including Japan, and he still ends his show with "Thank you for coming...is anybody driving back to JP?"

So...um...Bleu in LA, I hope he's not just planning to wing it.

That's the show I'm picking for tonight, though. Mostly I want to check out what this Bang Camaro business is all about.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .