*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Thousand Point Vocabulary Lesson

(January 17, 2005)

As seen on Family Guy:

    Stewie (to his teddy bear): "You know Rupert, the word "gullible" is not in the dictionary. Oh you don't believe me? Well here, look it up! (giggle) What? It really isn't? Let me look-- oh Rupert, touch�!! Hoisted by my own petard!"

As found in the dictionary:

    Word History: The French used p�tard, �a loud discharge of intestinal gas,� for a kind of infernal engine for blasting through the gates of a city. �To be hoist by one's own petard,� a now proverbial phrase apparently originating with Shakespeare's Hamlet (around 1604) not long after the word entered English (around 1598), means �to blow oneself up with one's own bomb, be undone by one's own devices.� The French noun pet, �fart,� developed regularly from the Latin noun pditum, from the Indo-European root *pezd-, �fart.
And they say TV is bad for the mind.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .