*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Stay Awhile, It's Better Than Female Extra-terrestrials!

(January 24, 2004)

I realize that the world of online diaries can spiral inward so tightly that you, a brand new reader who stumbled across Jungle Sweet Jungle just, like, today, have a lot of work to do to catch up. Who the fuck are these people? Well fear not. I'll catch you up right quick. Regular readers can skip this entry.

I'm Lexi Kahn. I grew up in Waturbury, Connecticut with one younger brother and a series of pet dogs, often too many at once. I went to a Catholic grade school called St. Margaret's. My friends were Michelle Brown, Sherrah Gibson, Colleen Berry and Jennifer Dixon. I had a crush on Paul Pastore for eight solid years. When I was about eight or nine our house got broken into and the TV almost-stolen. Almost? Yes, almost: the thieves (just some kids) dropped it on the way out and there it sat, broken. With no TV I turned to books and my brother turned to sports, which shaped our adult lives quite satisfactorily. When I was in 8th grade the police found a woman's dead body on the railroad tracks behind our house and my mom packed us up to move to "the country." We lived in Roxbury, CT, a small rural town which was in the same region that Woody Allen and Mia Farrow lived while Woody was falling in Whatever with his adopted daughter...in fact, Kristie Groteke, who went to high school with us, was "the nanny" who wrote a book about the affair. I say "with us" because I made a few friends in high school that I still have, one of which is Hub. I went to college in New York (English major at College of New Rochelle, a small liberal arts women's college) and Hub went to Lehigh in Pennsylvania. I didn't speak to him for our entire freshman year because I was in love with him but he only wanted to be friends-- an impossible situation. During college we hooked up again, as friends, and then later we both fell in love, with each other, and moved to Boston together. He pursued a career based on his Electrical Engineering degree and sights for a Masters in Alternative Energy, and now is partners in an R&D company trying to market some energy technology he invented. I became a Process Manager with expertise in ISO certification, made a shitload of money and was loathesomely miserable. Hub was my best friend and lover for ten years, and though we broke up, we'll never be able to do anything about lessening the bond we share. I moved out of our apartment last year (November 2002) and volunteered to be laid off from my job. Neil moved in with Hub and we still all hang out.

My "night gig" as a rock journalist and band manager took on full time status for about eight months, while collecting unemployment, though I did part time work for a rock publicist called Rainmaker and an online search engine. I also have a production company called Low Budget Superhero. While on tour with All the Queen's Men last April, my intestine ruptured. I almost died. Without health insurance or a good paying job, I lost my...well, I guess you could say...well, I have my...

...in short, I owe a lot of money to gas, electric, phone, and rent. I'm working all the time...ALL the time, and my big plan is to double my income and cut expenses in half. In about six months I'll be normalized. It's been interesting from an academic point of view, actually. For example, have you ever seen an eviction letter?? I hadn't!! I'll post mine when I get to a scanner! Actually it was very nicely worded, they're nice people. And some of the utility people are funny, too. Comcast: "Yes, we did turn off the cable. So you'll be paying the bill in person at one of our payment centers?" Me: "Nope!" Ha ha!!

Hub is now in love with Kelly, who lives near Toronto and, despite an Old Navy penchant, is cool and adorable...plus we back in Boston get to make fun of Hub in his new Old Navy cotton pullover. I'm in love with Joe Kowalski, and that is a carnival ride.

Activation of the rebuilding plan is in play, and it rocks. So now (for the last week and a half) I live with Dan and Tanya and Mike and four cats. My new room fucking rules! I'm not all the way moved out of the old place, but this is the final week. I can hand in my keys and be gone.

Any other questions, you may email at [email protected] or put into the Guestbook! Now, read on.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .