*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



RIP, baby

(October 24, 2003)

Elvis died yesterday.

A few days ago he started to seem lethargic, but he was still eating and drinking and purring when brushed and petted. But still I made a vet appointment for today. Yesterday, his lethargy turned into more of a serious thing, with obvious respiratory problems. Though he still purred when brushed and petted.

So instead of waiting for today's vet appointment, he and I piled into the car and went to Angell Memorial. They're so great there. "I need an evaluation on a fifteen year old diabetic cat!" the admitting nurse said over the PA the instant I walked up to the desk. A doctor, Dr. Whelan, ran right out, took Schmelv back and put him on a respirator.

He went into heart failure though, and they couldn't save him.

He was a good boy. Our "little old man" because he was so serious all the time. "Stinky boy" because the insulin made his poop smell like a superfund site.

We'll miss him.


(Elvis, right, with his brother Donovan)

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .