*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Semper Fi

(July 23, 2003)

Oof. Is it safe? Can I come out of this Percoset fog now? I need to get a job. I need to update my resume. I humble myself looking back over my HR file from GiantSuckingSound.com. It's been almost a year since I've worked there, you know. Performance reviews like corporate gold. Nothing but kudos, all those stock options, all crap on a stick when the thing went belly-up. Feh. I can't think about it. Waste of time. But these reviews...damn, bitch, you know what? I am truly scary when motivated. Invincible! I get motivated by the smallest things, too. One of my old managers, a smart, personable, devastatingly handsome ex-Marine named Mike Loomis, said something one time that kept me going for years. He was talking about being a team and all pulling to get stuff done and cutting loose the dead weight. He said, "You can lead. You can follow. Or you can get out of the way."

Lead, follow, or get out of the way. I fucking love that.

__________________

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .