*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



I will just NEVER be cool

(July 04, 2003)

I don't remember which night this happened, but because of how late it was, I THINK it might have been Tuesday. That day was long. First I did Rainmaker stuff all morning, then I had lunch with Chuck and Eating Boy at Bertucci's, then Chuck came back to my place to listen to CDs, then I took a nap, then around 11 Wolf came over, then around 2 or 3am, I walked down the hill to Hub's. Yeah, I'm pretty sure that was Tuesday...

It's about a mile to Hub's house. I REALLY looked like ass--hair in a messy ponytail, glasses, not a speck of make-up, beach shoes, and a very pajama-lookin' old T-shirt and grey gym shorts. I also had a quart of Gatorade in my hand (the red kind), and a worn copy of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. There was not a soul in sight. It was a gorgeous, jasmine-filled, hot summer night, total solitude in Somerville.

Oh yes, and I was singing. It was "Boys of Summer." You can thank The Ataris for the remake that all the rock stations are overplaying.

    "I can seeeee you-
    Your brown skin shinin' in the sun
    You got your hair combed back and your sunglasses on, baby..."
When suddenly I wasn't alone anymore. There was a bicyclist pedaling up the hill. A nanosecond of of startle gave over to "Eh, I don't care who sees me walkin' with my Gatorade and my book and my singin', besides, what are the odds it's somebody who'll care."
    "And I can teeeeeell you my love for you will still be strong
    After the boys of summer have gone--"
"Ad Frank," I said to the bicyclist, not because I'm prone to calling out random local rock star names in the street in the middle of the night, but because that's who it was.

"Hey Lexi, how you doing?" Ad said, and kept pedaling.

"Great."

A little voice inside my head said, "Don't look back, you can never look back."

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .