*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Swampy McRoastyson

(June 26, 2003)

Oky doky then, Summer. We get it. You're here! It's all silly shades of New England hilarity that it's this humid yesterday and today-- I mean, I did a load of laundry? And in the laundry is the SWEATER that I wore to bed the other night, when it was frigid and raining and I had to get up out of bed to put on that sweater and also some wool socks. And I just put away (it was on the floor in the living room because I'm a slob) the WINTER HAT I wore when I walked down the hill to Hub's on Sunday night. In the cold rain. Where he barbecued hot dogs and burgers in said rain, much to the delight of the cats, who love that sort of thing.

But yeah, it's finally June-appropriate hot. I have a 118-contact mailer to do tonight for Rainmaker, and it's so swampy in here that my hands are too moist to handle the address labels I just printed. And that's no funnin' around, it's important that those address labels don't get fucked up; they're stamps.com labels, meaning they represent $152 of my stamps.com account. That's real live money, yo. If something goes wrong it's the same thing as setting $152 afire.

But I had million things to do and no car! I just sent the following Yahoo Instant Message to Hub:

    lexi_kahn: I can reach the fuckin' Pope easier than I can reach your sorry ass.
His voicemail is full at home, and his cell phone carries Fellini-esque mystique in terms of relative usefulness in real life. In other words, it sucks. He went to Toronto again (Kelly, you need an online diary so I can link to you when I say "Toronto"), but either didn't plan to or didn't tell anyone that he'd be gone THREE DAYS. With my fuckin' car. I got things to do here, yo! Busy person, hello? Thermos said last night, "I guess I'll throw the cats some fuckin' food or somethin'." "Oh, you BETTER feed my cats, man...I'm little but I can kick your ass," in response to which he teased me about making Cat Torture Feeding Devices with clear lids so they can see the food but not know how to get to it...ooooh, Thermos is funny. Heh. (That cat thing IS actually funny but I must feign appalled protest.)

So I finally reached Hub on the cell. "Um, dude? You don't just fall off the planet for three days. If you do that again, take the freakin' train!" I told him Chuck hooked me up with the errands and business I needed wheels for today, then I told him the swampy-hands-vs-need-to-do-Rainmaker-work. "I'll bring you the air conditioner," he said. Alright then. Darn tootin'.

________________________

The current entry in Joe's diary is no joke. Every timepiece in his life is wack. And he doesn't find it odd. The clock in his room blinks some approximate-within-half-an-hour time, and any other clock is...different, but still not right. Which means, no matter what room you're in, you have to do math to figure out what time it is, unless you wear your own watch. He says he likes it that way. Why invite the chaos, I say.

________________________

I totally lost it in the CVS in Harvard Square last night; en route from George (a new bar on Boylston) to Noir (SO dark in that place that we needed to pull the table's candle closer to read the drink menu) me and Michelle stopped off for cigarettes. She picked up this little...was it candy? Or a toy? Or candy inside a toy? Anyway, it was called "Clicker Lickers." As funny as I found it then, it got me again today for no reason. Clicker Lickers! Why is that funny, why? BWA HA HA HA!!

Ohhhh, too hot for a giggle fit...

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .