*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Krispy Kreme-y

(June 27, 2003)

Oh, no way. Earlier today (it's 3:16am now, technically Friday "morning," so when I say "earlier" I mean this afternoon earlier, like ten hours ago earlier when it was still technically Thursday) en route to Friday's, me and Chuck passed the new Krispy Kreme, the first in this area. Just a little while ago around 1am, me and Hub passed it again, en route to the beach. I said, "OH, did you read Lisa's entry? According to McC, it's open 'til 2!" It was. And. There were like, a thousand cars in the drive-thru lane and a line ten people deep, and two cops conducting traffic and doing crowd control.

I'd like to say we stared in dumb silence. But actually we pointed and mocked and exclaimed and cracked up, and refused to get in line. Because really, "...they're all going to find out it's just a donut," summarized Hub.

Not that they're not good. Donuts, remember. Donuts = good, of course. But seriously...it's just a donut.

Or is it?

Hm...this calls for a Noise poll.

___________________________

Corin Ashley rules right now. Tonight I had a yen to hear this song from the first Pills CD, Wide Awake With The Pills. I spent like a half hour (seriously, it's now 3:55am) looking for the goddamn CD. I can't find it, so I go online and it's totally online, baby!

I just loved this song for using the medical catch phrase "call me if there's any change" to drive home the emotional reckoning of unrequited love. (Though I do recall the liner notes saying that a guitar solo in the bridge represents said emotional reckoning...I say it's the lyrics and evocative delivery.)

AND. They have the lyrics posted. ROCK, I tell you, those Pills do.

    CALL ME IF THERE'S ANY CHANGE

    I�ve been trying to lay down and bleed to please you.
    �Cause I�m dying to show you just how much I need you.
    But you just don�t care
    and you�ve made that clear.
    And now the only good thing is an extract of a promise that you�ll
    CALL ME IF THERE�S ANY CHANGE.

    I would hammer out our future but you fear breaking a nail.
    brought you flowers, a bunch of clover, and found you grinning
    on a four leaf bale.

    And you thought it was sweet,
    but it couldn�t compete.
    And now the only notice that I get from you is sympathy.
    CALL ME IF THERE'S ANY CHANGE

    guitar solo (symbolizing an emotional reckoning)

    Now the penny has dropped and it�s not gonna stop...
    And now I know you�ll never value anything you get from me.
    So one more thing to ease my mind;
    you�ll need a friend so here�s a dime
    CALL ME IF THERE�S ANY CHANGE.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .