*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Now What?

(March 12, 2003)

I don't want to hear the words "eye candy" again. I will kick your ass, I swear to FREAKIN' GOD I WILL.

___________________________

A propos of nothing, I remembered this from the trip to Philadelphia a few weeks ago. Hub and I were somewhere in Pennsylvania when I saw a sign on the highway listing a whole bunch of restaurants and stuff. Just after we passed the sign, a piece of information idly wormed its way into my consciousness. I'd just seen a thing I hadn't seen in...well, a long long time. "Did that say PONDEROSA?!" I yelled. "Welcome to Pennsylvania," Hub replied. "Things move...a little slower here." Ponderosa, are you kidding me? Do you remember this place? I remember Ponderosa, there was one in Waterbury when I was a kid. But I thought they'd gone under YEARS ago, along with Beefsteak Charlie's and Bonanza! Cafeteria style family restaurant, right? Obsessed with steak? When I saw the sign I was immediately nudged by a vague recollection of tightly plastic-wrapped pink frosted cake slices...and you know what? I just looked it up. PONDEROSA IS STILL OPEN. I mean, they EXIST still. There's three in Massachusetts according to their website.. Bonanza too. Same company. Who knew. Ponderosa. Christ.

___________________________

Do men have any idea that they rarely just "get lucky," because usually, we've planned it? (Oh, was that a secret? Um...then...as you were.)

___________________________

Here is what I learned last night. If you still feel like your cold is kicking your ass and you have a bowl of chicken soup (damn, the Middle East makes the best chicken soup), two cups of Earl Grey tea, then go to a rock show and slam two shots of Cuervo, and then you go home later try to go to sleep with a hit of NyQuil, well, I'll tell ya, maybe it was all that tea that said "HA!" Because dudes. I so have not slept yet. It's 9:12am right now. I TRIED. I gave up and watched the end of an episode of Charlie's Angels on TV Land. When the sun came up I took my garbage out, washed the rest of the dishes, swept the kitchen floor, cleared the living room of clutter, cleaned the bathroom sink, and sorted the laundry. And wrote this down.

Now what?

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .