*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Half-assed

(February 12, 2003)

HOOOO, I am so running on caffeine and hope right now. It's almost ten on Wednesday night, and I've turned on The West Wing for the first time in a million years. Surprisingly, Martin Sheen is teeming with turgid oratory. The music is reverent and dramatic. He's got his staff around him and he's speeching away. I know, you're shocked. Seriously, I think they could stage those "staff meeting" speech things of his a little less...well...staged.

But there's a really funny element of the show tonight-- the Charlie character, the young black assistant to the President, was dating the President's daughter and, I glean from context, she's been seeing another guy, who seems to be royalty of some kind. Because every time one of the White House staffers says anything to Charlie, he answers with some random, insistant missive about the girl. To wit: "Charlie, you got that?" "I'm in love with Zoe and I'm going to win her back." Or, "How are you, Charlie?" "Just because he's gorgeous and rich and French and charming and lives in a castle...oh god." Or, "I've never met Zoe, Charlie, she sounds nice." "She's not, but my love for her knows no bounds." Heh. You go, Charlie! Me and all the other non-gorgeous, non-rich, non-French, non-charming ordinary abode dwellers are TOTALLY rootin' for ya!

It's NBC. Of COURSE Charlie will win.

Speaking of NBC love stories, can we DISCUSS Ross and Rachel? I hadn't seen Friends in forever either, but caught it last week. Rachel has a baby now, and she and Ross (it's his baby) are STILL doing the love/hate thing. Goddammit, pick one!

Fuckin' TV.


"It's true love...you think this happens every day?"

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .