*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Love in the Plastic Groove

(January 11, 2003)

"What was that vinyl you were looking for?" Neil asked. "Glen Campbell's That Christmas Feeling. It'd be from really early 1970s." The one he'd found wasn't Glen Campbell, but I so appreciate the keeping-an-eye-out!

See, I have a list of old records that I'm dying to find, all from when I was a kid and my parents had an enormous vinyl collection. I'm always hunting ebay and shops and unlikely troves of potential treasure like Goodwill and tag sales.

One thing some of those LPs had in common was torch songs. I am SUCH a sucker for a really good torch song. I mean, love songs are okay, hate songs are fine, but a really good "I don't care what you think of me, you are my first, my last, my everything" song? Dude. Seriously.

Let's see, there was Donna Summer, and Crystal Gale, and Barry Manilow was known to have penned a torch song or two-- who can forget "The Linda Song" from Even Now? Anyone? Anyone? Um...okay, then it's just me. Also I remember a Vicki Sue Robinson record that had a couple on there. But the ultimate, ultimate one-- a singer who's since released some newer stuff, but nothing like this old record. Marlena Shaw. GOD, Marlena Shaw! Actually, a few years ago, I fucking FOUND the Marlena Shaw LP. The record is called Sweet Beginnings and every song on there is a killer. I wish I could sing like Jess, who has an evocative, rich, clear voice just made for torch songs, because I would totally be singing these in public.

"Walk Softly" positively kills me. Marlena takes the melody and, like, molds it and doesn't put it down until she's good and done with it. DAMN, bitch!

    If I seem distant and reserved when we meet
    Don't take the time to ask me why
    Oooh, it's bad enough I've lost you
    Don't you make it rough
    Just say hello and goodbye

    Walk softly when you walk by me
    My heart is still, don't wake it up
    Now that I've cried my love to sleep
    Don't you wake it up
    Don't wake it up

    I fall apart each time I look in your eyes
    Because I remember things I know I should forget
    You see my love's a spark
    But it could just burst into flame
    Because I'm not over you yet

    Come on, Walk softly when you walk by me
    My heart is still, don't wake it up
    Now that I've cried my love to sleep
    Don't you wake it up
    Don't wake it up

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .