*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Ode to Star Market

(September 12, 2002)

(...or, How I Didn't Get Sushi Last Night And Made This Up In The Car On The Way Home.)

Star sells sushi a la carte, that's why I deign to go there
Otherwise I stay away from Supermarket Nightmare
This evening as I ventured home from GiantSuckingSound.com
A big enormous yen for sushi hit me like a bomb

"Do I dare?" I asked myself, approaching Porter Square
This time of night, without a doubt, a monster lurks in there:
Entangled, ugly, slow and crass, a teeming steel and rubber clot--
Evil, stupid...what, you ask? The friggin' Porter parking lot!

Thoughts of maki and wasabi dancing keenly in my head,
I steeled my nerve and gripped the wheel and gunned it straight ahead
"I'm going to park this car," I said, with all the grit that I could muster
(Note to self: Never heed your inner Colonel Custer)

First, Buzz Cut Frat Boy cut me off with his stupid Pontiac
Then Grandpa almost rammed me with his ancient mammoth Cadillac
I should have bailed, I knew the score, but damn! I wanted sticky rice!
If not for that I'd not have risked my sanity to sacrifice

I chanced another round in hopes a space would open up
Soccer Mom in Minivan flipped off Dodge Ram Pick-Up Truck
Girl in Audi looked autistic, Guy in Beemer idled
The little voice inside my head said "You're getting homicidal--"
Abort! Abandon Porter Square, forget about the snapper!"
Dork in Camry! Taurus Loser! Subaru Brake-Tapper!

I finally made it past them all, to contemplate my foolishness:
How much did I need that fish, and how much did I need that stress?

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .