*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Where in World Is...

(October 02, 2001)

I have lost Lola somewhere in these United States.

It started the weekend I was jumped, bound and gagged, thrown into the car and ordered to ENJOY CAMPING. Okay it wasn't that bad. Except for not being able to shit or breathe or sleep or check my email for two days, and for the fact that the World Trade Center had been destroyed three days earlier and I wasn't really in, y'know, a very s'mores place.

Whilst camping, I ducked behind a car to have a smoke and make some phone calls. I called my messages and heard one from Lola, but since I was somewhere in the Adirondacks (Lake WannaMakeaPeePee or something) the reception was crap. All I could make out was "weekend...shlubbydoo...my dad's... pizzlepotssshhhh..."

I got the message for real once I landed back on some nice soothing pavement; turns out she'd said "I'll be at my dad's this weekend." Crap! And then where after that? Tucson? New York? New Orleans? Loooola, where aaare yoooou...

If you've ever read Lola's diary, you'll realize she married Stephane (with whom I share a birthday) and moved to France. We were best friends in high school. I kinda wanna SEE her when she comes back to the states. Particularly scary is, when did she leave Paris? Because the Camping Weekend was the weekend after the WTC disaster...did she just make it out? Did she fly back yet?

Lola knows more about The Brady Bunch than anyone I know. In high school she had a very high hairdo, short on the sides and back, with a braided tail over one shoulder. She looked like she could be in the cast of Fame or play with Prince (she really can play piano). I showed up Freshmen year, the totally unfashionable new kid with a Leather Tuscadero hairdo and a bad attitude. Of COURSE I had a bad attitude. I was yanked out of my school in a city where I knew what was cool and had all kinds of friends, and dropped into some hoity-toity tiny little high school in the middle of Whiteville, USA. Lola was my first friend there. In a place where the "center of town" is a single clapboard structure that contains a General Store, the post office, the real estate office, and two beat-up gas pumps, friends are, uh, kind of important.

Hell, they're important anyway.

Dammit Lola, did you go to New Orleans without me?

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .