*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Bridge For Sale

(June 12, 2001)

It's like if someone insults you, but they do it with such panache that it's hard to get mad. I just got the following email. It's just some crappy scam email, but look how clever they were. At a minimum, they got me to READ it, which never happens when I smell "Special, ahem, Offer."

    Subj: I forgot to tell you this
    Date: Tue, 12 Jun 2001 5:47:52 PM
    From: [email protected]

    I got your email a few days ago but I've been really busy. BTW, I was working with a group that was able to take my credit card bills and cut them in half! And no, its not some sort of bullshit home loan or anything...that's what I thought it would be when I first heard about it.

    Barbara and I are now able to take that vacation to Belize we have been planning and even have an extra couple hundred a month left over.

    It's a pretty cool deal they just "get" them to cut your bills in half basically-- it's wild, if your interested the site is: http://www.debt-relief-now.cc

    I hope I did the link right but don't give this to anyone else, if the credit card companies find out about it I''m sure they'll get laws passed to stop it. As far as I am concerned credit cards allow them legal ways to steal from us.

    Let's get together for a beer next week after work.

I mean, it's got everything the classic con job needs. It's got Chummy Familiarity. Notice the subject line, as though this was a friend that I just got off the phone with. It's got Camaraderie in a collusive secret handshake kind of way in "don't give this to anyone else." Empathy-- I am supposed to know "Barbara," and the implication is that me and MY little woman could also use a trip to Belize. Casual bar-stool-buddy language like "not some sort of bullshit home loan." And then the piece de resistance...inaccurate use of "your" instead of "you're" and the writer's suggestion that these "link" things are all Greek to him ("I hope I did the link right").

How'd he find me, that's what I wanna know.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .