*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Unsafe at Any Speed

(2000-06-02)

I try to read the paper every day. But lately I've had the concentration level of a rug rat on Jolt. I figured out that I'm distracted by the please-let-it-be-fictional stupidity of people that are probably just like me.

Take today's paper. I'm poring thru an article about Ralph Nader-- yes, I'm among the 1% of well-intentioned Americans who "throw their vote away." Ask me about John Hagelin. But I digress. I do that, sorry. So I'm mmhmm'ing and uh-huh'ing my way through the article, telling Hub the highlights even though he's trying to watch Leno while entertaining two of the cats, when something catches my eye on the opposite page.

A brief item, not more than 150 words, that reports a scam in Florida. Apparently, some guys made a ton of cash off frustrated (and mind numbingly stupid) commuters. These guys...I'm sorry but they are now among my minor heroes for having great big balls and an astonishing lack of faith in American intelligence to even SUSPECT this would work. They've been charged with fraud. Apparently, they set up a website and sold a buttload of cheap ol' flashlights, advertised as "GoLights." What did they promise a GoLight would do? Why, just shine it at a red traffic light, and it'll turn green! Eventually.

There's some kind of object lesson here. It'll come to me.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .