*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Where Have All The Good Pens Gone?

(January 15, 2007)

It's 1:30 in the afternoon on a gray and soggy Martin Luther King Day! I'm at work but it's very quiet, and I love that. A quiet day at work is like a gift, though not as dear as a day off.

SO quiet it is, that I'm logging a quick entry just to say: where are all the good online diarists anymore? Raise your hands, come out of the woodwork, I need you.

I gave up awhile ago looking for new online diaries to read. I used to have a whole list I'd check daily, but one by one they've stopped writing until all I have left is McC, Uncle Bob, Gilgongo and onlyone. And I already know what's in onlyone's because I live with the dude. I've recently caught up on Drewa again and have been enjoying that -- someone else who can't stick to a diet, a workout schedule OR get the laundry done. My soul sister, who knew!

But yeah, no good new diaries to replace the ones I used to love. So many suck assloads of assy ass. But then again, maybe clicking at random to find new reads isn't the best method. I kept finding that if they're well-penned, then they're boring. If they're not boring, then they're riddled with non-punctuated run-on sentences divided into questionable poetic-justice-abusing line breaks. If they don't abuse poetic justice, then they reek of...of...of a certain vapid...I can't quite explain. I'll find an example. Let's randomly click in "Browse the Members" on the main Diaryland page and see, shall we?

FIRST CLICK, here's what I got:

    I'm ..confused.Everyday i feel like i'm becoming more n more feelingless.I don't know why.i like nothing even if i smile i feel like this smiling alike thing is not meant for me ..somewhere perhaps i'm afraid..but y? what i'm afraid of..of loosing everything in life.i don't know .
See what I mean? Vapid and...whiny and aggravatingly dysfunctional. You can't make this stuff up. Don't you just want to leave a comment for that guy that says SHUT UP. SHUTUPSHUTUP. SHUT. UP.

Remember the days before the word "blog"? Because now everyone and their cat (not joking) has an online diary, and they all call it a blog. Maybe the definition of "blog" shouldn't be "web log" anymore, but "boring log."

One beacon of hope is Pojken, who does do the non-capitalization thing, but he seems to be a well-traveled gay European baker with eclectic taste in music.

So Pojken's bookmarked.

Anyone with recommendations can leave a comment in the Guestbook.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .