*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Maybe If I Were (Totally) Gay?

(February 16, 2001)

It's wet out. And cold. I can't get my feet warm.

I just got back from Jamaica Plain, picking up some Noise copy and dropping off the crossword puzzle.

I never know if the puzzle will get into the 'zine until the issue actually gets laid out. I originally started doing the crosswords because T Max wanted something interesting for the "extra" page that sometimes occurs when a certain amount of ads don't come in, or a story is a page too short, or whatever.

I have no idea if any scenesters actually try to do my puzzles or not.

I don't know if not knowing is a good thing or a bad thing.

I don't even know if I care.

This month, since it'll be the March issue and March is Women's History Month, I made a puzzle wherein every clue is a local indie rocker chick's first name.

There are about 3000 bands in the area. In making this puzzle, I realize how few women there really are on the scene.

That kind of sucks. Actually, that sucks a whole lot.

I think I may need to start a little side page to Jungle Sweet Jungle, celebrating the indie rock chicks I know who kick major ass.

How does "Girls With Guitars" sound? Maybe Rockrgrl could have a banner on it and I can do a webring with indie girls in other cities. I can envision that taking shape. Kind of like a virtual Lilith Fair, but without the whining.

(Note: This girl rock 'zine sounds cool, right? Well forget it, it will never happen. Girls Do Not Like Me. I haven't ever nailed down exactly why, but it keeps happening: I'm out somewhere, I'm trying to be social, and yet I'm stalling out like an old gocart while trying to talk to the chicks around here. So I think, "...oookay, she's not even listening. Aaaand now she's turned away to look at...nothing. The wall. Do I have a booger? Maybe garlic breath...?")

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .