*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Liverpoo

(January 25, 2008)

I like writing about music. I love the process of deconstructing down to the facts of my personal musical experience and finding the right way to describe what I'm hearing to my readers.

I dislike merely making information-less value statements such as "this sucks."

But Ringo is, right this minute, singing a song on Craig Ferguson's Late Late Show, and I have two choices. Either I stay up WAY too late finding expressions synonymous with "this sucks" or I just come out with it. 'the fuck is he DOING. What I'm now listening to can be categorized as a musical crime that equals even, yes, those musical crimes perpetuated by Ringo's fellow ex-Beatles who put their tone-deaf, talentless wives in their post-Beatles bands.

I wonder what Lennon would say about those times when Ringo adds another Ringo-esque page to the the great tome that is the legacy of the Fab Four. I mean, it's one thing to guest drum in studio sessions and, now and again, tour with a backing band and sing "With A Little Help From My Friends" in eight countries. But...well, remember Caveman? Oh, you'd blocked it out?

Goddamn it. This title track from the new record is just plain terrible. Awful, godawful. A watered-down, hackneyed version of George's "When We Was Fab."

Ringo, dude. Just play drums man, okay?

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .