*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Crikey

(September 05, 2006)

I'm SO bummed that the Crocodile Hunter died today. That guy was the best low budget superhero EVER. If Steve Irwin wasn't the most-imitated-dude in your household, he was in mine, at least the one I used to share with Hub. Dude was crazy. We loved him.

I just said to my boss "I can't believe the Crocodile Hunter died." He goes, "Why?" I guess that's a good question. What do I mean "I can't believe." Of course I believe it. Because at least once in every Crocodile Hunter episode Steve seemed on the verge of being chomped, stung, or trampled to death. I guess what I mean is "I can't believe it actually, finally happened." I feel so bad for his wife and kid!

There's video but I haven't watched it. Too soon. From CNN.com, "It shows that Steve came over the top of the ray and the tail came up, and spiked him (in the chest), and he pulled it out and the next minute he's gone."

Crikey. Pierced through the heart by a stingray. That fucking sucks.

You know what, though? I have to concede that if Steve had been told by some fortune teller "You'll die young, there's no changing that. How do you wish to go?" he'd have said definitely something like this. Think about it -- this invincible guy, this fearless and constantly-delighted, goofy cargo-short-clad risk-taker -- if he'd died in a plane crash or from cancer, that would have REALLY sucked out loud. Like when Christopher Reeve...SUPERMAN for chrissakes...fell off his horse. Superman fell off a stupid horse and got paralyzed. That was so unfair. Of course he wasn't REALLY Superman, but still. The spirit of the thing is the same.

You think just before the stingray jabbed him he said "Look at this! What a BEAUTY!"

RIP, Steve, you awesome crazy fool.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .