*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



grumpy.

(July 04, 2004)

Yay.

I don' t know why I said that. *yawn*. It's been tough getting motivated today. Weird since it's just fun stuff we have to do, like get some condiments at CVS and go over to MojoNine's for some BBQ and party-type stuff. I'm totally showered and dressed now (it is ten of four) and Joe's in the shower, and I've got my top sirloin marinating and have put most of the things we want to take over there into a bag. Things like pearl onions, grape tomatoes, barbecue skewers and the Aqua Teen Hunger Force DVD that Jennifer got for Joe.

Hee. She's a nice girl. I never had a sister but if I'd had a sister she'd be the best one. I wonder how different I'd be if I'd had a sister growing up. In an Italian family, the only girl and the eldest, I had to do all the fucking work. It didn't occur to me, I mean it wasn't until my teacher told me that her opinion was that, with my brains, I should be able to "get" this math, but that I must have missed internalizing some major phase in my math-related development. In other words, at some point when the rest of the kids were learning and practicing the building blocks of the science of numbers, I was doing something else.

I was doing the housework, is what I was doing. Every day, a long list of chores that seemed to get longer every few months until, by the time I got to my homework, I started on English and History, and by the time I got to Math I was just too tired to keep going. Little kids are supposed to put homework first, not take care of the whole house. So my education was absolutely stunted. And forget anything else that all my friends were doing, like gymnastics and piano lessons. I might as well have asked for a unicorn.

I don't know where that came from. My point is, with another sister in the house it might have been different. We could at least have bonded over chores that no brother, lounging on his stomach in front of after-school programming all afternoon, had to fret his pretty little head over.

I don't know where that came from, either.

Oh my god. On the news, it's showing thousands of people staking out their spot on the Esplanade for the Boston pops and fireworks...last night. They have sleeping bags. What the f...they're only FIREWORKS, you guys.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .