*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Those Meddling Kids

(February 17, 2001)

Pagan Kennedy wrote a book called "The Exes" about a fictional indie rock band in Boston. I gave my copy away a long time ago, but it's a great read, full of angst and ego and love quadrangles. One of the fun things about it is the premise, the theme around the band: every member has slept with at least one other member, hence the name.

I got one. A band theme. I can almost totally "cast" it, too. It came to me earlier today, after dragging myself from bed at 2:30 in the afternoon with a killer headache. On the couch, watching cartoons through puffy half-lids with a vat of coffee to wash down four un-coated aspirin.

Do you realize there's at least one song in every Scooby Doo episode? Besides the "Scooby Dooby Doo, Where Are You" song. I think there is, anyway. I'm not a Scooby fanatic wherein I can pathetically relate every nuance of every episode, like I can with The Brady Bunch or Friends. But I think there's a song, and I think it's when the chase scene happens and Fred, Velma, Daphne, Shaggy and Scoob run in, out doors, up, down stairs, under ladders, through tunnels, while being chased by the bad guy(s).

I kinda started to get into the song today, when I envisioned it: Your basic standard four piece pop band dressed like those meddling kids, called, of course, Those Meddling Kids. While they play their jingle-like pop nuggets, streaming silent video of the cartoon chase scenes can run in the background.

They'd have to cover some of the Chase Scene Songs, naturally.

A headache, an old cartoon, mainlined caffeine and an aspirin overdose. This must be how bad rock operas get started.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .