*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



readingaboutwriting

(January 13, 2001)

Blocked. Blockedblockedblocked.

I'm re-reading some of my numerous books on the topic of fiction writing. My inner Analyst already knows that readingaboutwriting is just a Stall Maneuver, something that my inner Procrastinator uses to trick my inner Artist into feeling productive. My inner Artist is not an idiot and sees right through the charade.

The book I'm thumbing through is Making Shapely Fiction. I dusted this one off because I recall that the author, Jerome Stern, arranged the topics like an index, sort of a Quick Reference Guide to elements of fiction. Starts with "Accuracy," followed by "Allegory," and so on. Goes all the way to "Workshops." Ends with something called "Zigzag."

(sigh)

Okay, what I'm struggling with is the point of view. I've switched back and forth, using first person, then third, then tried using a secondary character to talk about the primary character. I scrapped the latter because it's too much removed from the action. I think. I don't know. Maybe.

Okay, I'm pretty sure I want to move the action along from the point of view of the primary character. The problem is the primary character. She's an imbecile, but thinks that she's a big shot.

So...to come up with ways for her to tell her story as though she's Most Popular Girl, but have the reader understand that she's a fuck up�

(sigh)

Jeff, a composer and all around a pretty astonishing person recommends workshops to get through jungles like this.

I really oughtta look into that.

I miss being in school.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .