*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



Video meliora proboque; deteriora sequor

(December 12, 2000)

"Like all other human beings, I know what I ought to do, but continue to do what I know I oughtn't to do." (Aldous Huxley)

I have started and stopped writing so so SO many times since the last session that I am just lost as to what to do next.

You see, this Diaryland thing...it's just an appetizer. It's a jumpstart, really. What I do is, I sit down and open up a vein, just a scratch, really, to get the blood flowing. Some seedling of an idea, some continuation of a thought, I get to slam out here in this forum, then-- like siphoning gas into a can-- I turn to some other more purposeful writing.

But not lately. Because I'm too tired. And cranky, overworked, tense, angry, and did I mention tired? What's happened (again) is that I've let my job overpower my life. When I started at my company, I was just a kid. The Wonder Kid, I worked my ass off, never taking any personal days, always impressing the shorts off everybody. It was about two years ago that I said, "What am I doing?" I had just been offered a promotion rolled up in a transfer to the west coast office. I said "No" to that promotion. I realized that I'd been grinding away on this trajectory of...okay, boring myself. Long story short: I'm starting to revert to my old ways: never having fun, working all the time. I need to remember that this is just a job. I didn't intend to do this forever.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .