*******

[Archives By Year]

[Back]

[Forth]

[Diaryland]

You're reading an old entry from Michelle "Lexi Kahn" DiPoala's online diary, formerly called Jungle Sweet Jungle. Blog name changed to Low Budget Superhero in October 2005. Now I mostly go by SuperLowBudge. You can call me Lexi, Michelle or SuperLowBudge, or if you're my mom, then Shelly. Enjoy these old posts (except if you're my mom.) Please follow on Blogger at superlowbudge.blogspot.com. From there you can follow me on Twitter and some other platforms. Thanks!



The Whee Hours

(April 05, 2000)

I am SO going to get fired.

I stay up way too late, every night, either seeing live bands or writing about seeing live bands or preparing to play these bands on a radio show me and my friend (and fellow writer) Brian do. Monday nights. Yes, a school night-- shut UP! (Yawn)

Take tonight, for example. I just got back from Toad, where I saw Asa Brebner play. I ALMOST left after Asa's first set-- I had to get some kitty litter and Benadryl and a douche and a buff puff at CVS before I schlepped home-- but I was glad I didn't. Because Peter Wolf popped in to sing a few during the second set. That would have been a bummer, to find out I was in the feminine hygiene aisle thinking, "Fresh Scent or Summer Rain?" while one 'o my favorite performers is belting out Merle Haggard across the street.

Only problem with all this not-sleeping-at-night is, I can't get up to go to work. Today I made it in at the crack of noon, and people are starting to notice.

I don't know if I care, though.

Asa's got this great song called "I'm Not Going To Work Today." Basically it's a chicken-fried rootsy little number that treats the topic of slacking-off in a way I feel like doing at least three days a week. The chorus goes something like, "the worst that can happen is I won't get fired."

Think I'll bring that CD to work tomorrow...er, uh...(looking at the time, 2:29am)...I mean today.

. . . . .

Back / Forward

. . . . .